SpringerLink
Forum Springer Astron. Astrophys.
Forum Whats New Search Orders


Astron. Astrophys. 364, L62-L65 (2000)

Next Section Table of Contents

Letter to the Editor

Exploring the gravitationally lensed system HE 1104-1805: VLT spectroscopy of the lens at z=0.729 *

C. Lidman 1, F. Courbin 2, J.-P. Kneib 3, G. Golse 3, F. Castander 3 and G. Soucail 3

1 European Sourthern Observatory, Casilla 19, Santiago, Chile (clidman@eso.org)
2 Universidad Católica de Chile, Departamento de Astronomia y Astrofisica, Casilla 306, Santiago 22, Chile (fcourbin@astro.puc.cl)
3 Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées, Laboratoire d'Astrophysique, UMR5572, 14 Avenue Edouard Belin, 31000, Toulouse, France (kneib@obs-mip.fr, ggolse@obs-mip.fr, castander@obs-mip.fr, soucail@obs-mip.fr)

Received 7 September 2000 / Accepted 9 October 2000

Abstract

Using FORS2, mounted on Kueyen (UT2 of the VLT), we have obtained the redshift of the lensing galaxy in the gravitational lens system HE 1104-1805. We measure [FORMULA], in good agreement with previous estimates based on the time delay and the position of the lens on the fundamental plane. It also coincides with one of the metal line absorption systems that are seen in high resolution spectra of HE 1104-1805.

Key words: cosmology: gravitational lensing – galaxies: quasars: individual: – Magnetohydrodynamics (MHD)

* Based on observations collected during ESO Program 65.O-0566(A)

Send offprint requests to: C. Lidman

SIMBAD Objects

Contents

Next Section Table of Contents

© European Southern Observatory (ESO) 2000

Online publication: December 15, 2000
helpdesk.link@springer.de